Although the Dominicans retained a presence here for a further two centuries, the position of the monastery remained insecure in the turbulent times that followed. The priory was still home to a community of monks in 1645 during the Confederate Wars, when it was visited by the Papal Legate, Cardinal Runnicini. Tragically, in 1648 it was attacked by the parliamentary forces of Lord Inchiquin and two monks were put to death in front of the altar. However despite these shocking events, monks continued to live and work here until well into the eighteenth century, often under the threat of religious persecution.
As well as the incredible priory, Kilmallock has a number of other medieval buildings to discover. King’s Castle is one of the most notable. This fine example of an urban tower house dates to the fifteenth century. It is likely that it was originally built as the fortified home of a wealthy merchant or noble. Some of the other medieval buildings include the remains of a sixteenth century stone mansion house, the medieval collegiate church of Saints Peter and Paul and of course the well-preserved stone walls that surround the town.