The excellent, bright and airy Blasket Centre, or in Irish, Ionad an Bhlascaoid, honours the community that called the Blasket Islands their home until the island was finally evacuated in 1953. The Blasket Centre houses an extensive collection of photographs, writings and storyboards, models, artworks, documentary films and research resources along with fine café. The exhibition also recreates the interior of a typical Blasket Island dwelling, where you can see the everyday features of the home, offering a small but intimate glimpse into their daily life.
The islands were a beautiful if harsh home, and the stunning scenery and life on the Great Blasket Island has inspired a plethora of poets, folklorists, ethnographers and artists over the years. The islands themselves have a rich literary tradition, with writers and storytellers such as Tomás Ó Criomhthain, Muiris Ó Súilleabháin and Peig Sayers. Peig is perhaps the most familiar of the Blasket writers, as she was a regular feature on the Irish school syllabus. Peig was a renowned storyteller, with a great store of knowledge about the folklore and traditions of the Blasket Islands and surroundings. She was born in Dunquin, and worked around Dingle as a servant, until she married Patsy Guiheen and moved to the Great Blasket Island in 1892. She was particularly renowned for her beautiful use of the Irish language.
For practical information about visiting this site Click Here